Standards and Clovis Unified Students


What are educational standards?

Educational standards help define what schools will teach students in a given grade and subject area. They act as a road map for educators to ensure that what students learn is consistent across schools and school districts.  In Clovis Unified standards are used to identify concepts, knowledge and skills students need to master.  If content standards are the “what” students will learn, individual school districts, schools and teachers determine “how” this information is delivered to students.  One of the key values in CUSD is continuous improvement and learning. Our goal is and has always been for our students to master the skills and concepts represented by California’s Content Standards. Copies of the standards are included in the links below. A set of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the California Content Standards are available for parents. Revised standards don’t change that fact, but they will be used by educators in Clovis Unified to improve the way we help every child be the best they can be in mind, body and spirit.

How will my child be assessed on the new standards?

Student assessments are not new and for many states, including California, taking assessments online will become standard. California assessments are being developed by the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC). Schools in Clovis Unified are already preparing to transition to a computerized testing model.  Parents interested in seeing what such assessments will look like can take a sample test.

What can I do to help my child succeed?

New standards do not change the critical role that informed and involved parents have in a student’s success. In addition to encouraging your student to think in terms of “why” a particular answer or solution is correct, parents are encouraged to stay in close communication with their child’s classroom teachers about school work and progress. Parents can offer help where needed and encourage academic success.

Can I get a copy of the standards?

Please click any of the grade level links below to download a PDF of your child’s standards.Kindergarten

1 CC Thumb2 CC Thumb3 CC Thumb4 CC Thumb

5 CC Thumb

6 CC Thumb7 CC Thumb8 CC Thumb





practice test