How to Become a Substitute Teacher
All applicants must hold a 30 Day Sub Permit or regular California Credential. If you need to apply for a 30 Day Sub Permit, please contact the Fresno County Office of Education at 559-497-3701 to schedule an appointment. You must have a completed Bachelor’s Degree and have passed the CBEST to qualify for a Permit.
Substitute Teacher applications are accepted electronically and are only available during an open posting period. The next posting period will open June 12, 2017 through June 14, 2017.
All applicants will be notified after the posting period closes and applications are screened. Selected applicants will be notified regarding interview schedule, fingerprint information, and Substitute Teacher Orientation via email.
Required documents include:
- 30 Day Sub Permit or California Credential
- CSET (if applicable)
- RICA (Multiple Subject/Special Ed Credential holders only)
- Transcripts with degree posted (unofficial are fine)
- Letter of Recommendation from the Professional/Educational field. (must be less than 18 months old)
All applicants will be notified after the posting period closes and applications are screened. Selected applicants will be notified regarding interview schedule, fingerprint information, and Substitute Teacher Orientation.
The fee for fingerprinting is $49.00. Due to fingerprint legislation, Clovis Unified cannot accept fingerprint clearance for employment purposes from other agencies, school districts, county offices or the Commission on Teacher Credentialing.
Substitute Teacher Pay
Substitute Teachers are paid on a daily rate of $105 per day. Long-Term Substitute positions are paid at $120 per day starting on the eleventh (11th) consecutive day.
For additional information or questions please e-mail email@example.com