California Content Standards

Standards and Clovis Unified Students

Child leaning on books What are educational standards?
Educational standards help define what schools will teach students in a given grade and subject area. They act as a road map for educators to ensure that what students learn is consistent across schools and school districts.  In Clovis Unified standards are used to identify concepts, knowledge and skills students need to master.  If content standards are the “what” students will learn, individual school districts, schools and teachers determine “how” this information is delivered to students.  One of the key values in CUSD is continuous improvement and learning. Our goal is and has always been for our students to master the skills and concepts represented by California’s Content Standards. Revised standards don’t change that fact, but they will be used by educators in Clovis Unified to improve the way we help every child be the best they can be in mind, body and spirit. Copies of the standards are included in the links below. A set of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the California Content Standards are available for parents. 

How will my child be assessed on the new standards?
Student assessments are not new and for many states, including California, taking assessments online is the standard. Students take online assessments on an annual basis in mathematics and English Language Arts using the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC) system. Students in grades 5, 8 and 11 also take a science test handled through the California Science Test (CAST).

What can I do to help my child succeed?
New standards do not change the critical role that informed and involved parents have in a student’s success. In addition to encouraging your student to think in terms of “why” a particular answer or solution is correct, parents are encouraged to stay in close communication with their child’s classroom teachers about school work and progress. Parents can offer help where needed and encourage academic success.

Can I get a copy of the standards?
Please click any of the grade level links below to download a PDF of your child’s standards.
  • Kindergarten
  • 1st Grade
  • 2nd Grade
  • 3rd Grade
  • 4th Grade
  • 5th Grade
  • 6th Grade Standard
  • 7th Grade
  • 8th Grade checklist button
  • High school

Clovis Unified School District: Be the best you can be in mind, body, and spirit

Buchanan Area Schools

Buchanan Alta Sierra Cole Century Dry Creek Garfield Tarpey Woods

Clovis High Area Schools

Clovis High Clark Cedar Wood Clovis Elementary Mickey Cox Gettysburg Jefferson Red Bank Sierra Vista Weldon

Clovis West Area Schools

Clovis West Kastner Ft. Washington Liberty Lincoln Maple Creek Nelson Pinedale Valley Oak

Clovis North Area Schools

Clovis North Bud Rank Copper Hills Fugman Mountain View River View

Clovis East Area Schools

Clovis East Boris Fancher Creek Freedom Miramonte Oraze Temperance Kutner Reagan Elementary Young Elementary

Educational Services Area Schools

CART Gateway Clovis Online School Clovis Community Day School Clovis Adult Education Sierra Outdoor