The California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System was established on January 1, 2014. The CAASPP System replaced the Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) Program, which became inoperative on July 1, 2013.

The CAASPP System encompasses the following assessments and student participation requirements. Information about the content and format of each test is also provided. Clovis Unified students will be taking the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) tests each spring. For more information on the exact dates of testing, you may contact your child’s school. 

Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments for English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics in grades three through eight and eleven.
Student Participation: All students at the designated grade levels are required to participate with the following exceptions:
  • Students who participate in the alternate assessments.
  • ELA only—English learners who are in their first 12 months of attending a school in the United States.

Content and Format: The Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments which are delivered by computer consist of two sections: a computer-adaptive test and a performance task based on the California Content Standards for English Language Arts and Mathematics. The computer-adaptive section includes a range of items types such as selected response, constructed response, table, fill-in, graphing, etc. The performance tasks are extended activities that measure a student’s ability to integrate knowledge and skills across multiple standards—a key component of college and career readiness.

Alternate assessments for English Language Arts, Mathematics in grades three through eight and eleven and Science in grades five, eight and once in grades 10, 11 or 12.
Student Participation: Students with significant cognitive disabilities who are unable to take the Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments even with accessibility supports and whose Individualized Education Program (IEP) indicates assessment with an alternate test.

Content and Format: The content of the alternate assessment will be based on alternate achievement standards derived from the California Content Standards for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities.

California Science Test (CAST)
The California Science Test (CAST) is an online test based on the California Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). CUSD will administer the CAST to eligible students in grades five and eight and once in grades 10, 11 or 12.


    Clovis Unified School District: Be the best you can be in mind, body, and spirit

    Buchanan Area Schools

    Buchanan link image Alta Sierra link image Cole link image Century Elem logo with "C" and Tiger Dry Creek link image Garfield Elementary Logo Tarpey link image Woods link image

    Clovis High Area Schools

    Clovis High link image Clark link image Cedar Wood link image Clovis Elementary link image Mickey Cox link image Gettysburg link image Jefferson link image Red Bank link image Sierra Vista link image Weldon link image

    Clovis West Area Schools

    Clovis West link image Kastner link image Ft. Washington link image Liberty link image Lincoln link image Maple Creek Nelson link image Pinedale link image Valley Oak link image

    Clovis North Area Schools

    Clovis North link image Bud Rank link image Copper Hills Fugman link image Mountain View link image River View link image

    Clovis East Area Schools

    Clovis East wolf logo Boris link image Fancher Creek link image Freedom link image Hirayama link image Miramonte link image Oraze link image Temperance Kutner link image Reagan Elementary link image Young Elementary link image

    Educational Services Area Schools

    CART link image Gateway link image Clovis Online School link image Clovis Community Day School link image Clovis Adult Education link image Sierra Outdoor link image